Changing Education Paradigms

Arts1

Came across a Sir Ken Robinson lecture today, and thought I would share this interesting topic on education. In my opinion, the ways in which we teach today need to reflect the ways in which we learn today.  As one who believes in life-long learning, this video opens your eyes to the an archaic educational system where societal ideas need to shift if we truly want to educate our children . Not only that, but there needs to be a shift in the perception of informal education, which can also be a means to higher learning. It is all about ensuring the next generation has the ability to learn and grow in a way that will truly enrich their lives.

I believe change can be positive, change is the reality we all live with.

Let me know what you think??

 

xo

Mahogany

 

4 thoughts on “Changing Education Paradigms

  1. Wow this explains everything I have been saying for the past two years to friends and family. After graduating from college, I couldn’t find a job in my field, and at this point right now, I don’t feel the need to go back to school until I know that I will be guaranteed some kind of future. Our whole education system needs to be revamped, learning institutions need to partner up companies so that college grads are able to get jobs and be able to perform well at the job through classes they took in college.

    I think the only people benefiting from school in this society today are science and technology students, especially in the healthcare field. They are able to secure jobs all the time, and they get paid well in today’s society.

    Until our education system is fixed I don’t want to go back to school. I think we take a’lot of unnecessary classes that we will never need or use in the future. I refuse to pay thousands of dollars to learning institutions whom at the end will not help me secure a good future. I’ll be the one ending up in debt paying them back for the next 30 years of my life. I refuse to stoop to that level.

    Thanks for putting this up!

    • Hey Mary,

      Thanks for the lovely comment. I am know there are many people who feel the same, me included. I am a huge advocate for life-long learning and informal means of educating.

      Right now I am completing a masters in education, and the reason for taking this particular masters degree is it tries to incorporate many nontraditional ways of teaching which is fabulous. Some people are writing poetry, performing plays, writing blogs, workshops etc for their thesis. It is quite fantastic. For a degree which is strictly formal and by the book it is nice to put a fresh twist on it.

      But to your point, I completely understand, why would anybody put themselves in a large amount of debt for the sake of a piece a paper to tell you, “you are now a qualified citizen”. I mean it is out-right ridiculous, so many people are taking their time now, to figure out what they want before doing any kind of education that requires a fee. Where is, “back in the day”, it was the natural next step to just go to school.

      I am glad you enjoyed this post! Stick around I am always posting content on education and anything that truly can improve and enrich our lives into a more positive direction.

      Hey you might enjoy this post: http://crazyfunsexyguide.com/2012/12/01/inspirational-speech
      I am writing my thesis around over-achievers and under-achievers in the educational system.

      Thank you for the comment, wish you all the best. Chat soon!
      xo
      Mahogany

      • Hi Mahogany,

        Well if people like you are getting better acquainted with this new type of learning. I will certainly go back to school. You will be a great teacher one day. School needs to be more fun, we definitely learn differently. I consider myself a visual and hands on learner.

        Well good luck with the masters you will do great. I will definitely look at the link you gave me and get back to you on it.

        Later!

        Sarudzayi

Leave Some Love

